01 Aug 2017 – Song: Flytrap Blues

The girls go out each evenin’
with the one my heart adores
who hollers as she’s leavin’:
“don’t let the dog pee on the floor!”

chorus
   Goodbye again sweet baby,
   go have a real good time!
   You usta be my lady,
   and every night was mine!

I get up in the mornin’ –
off to stretch out on the rack!
You smile to see me leavin’ –
but not so much when I come back!

chorus
   Goodbye again sweet baby,
   go have a real good time!
   You usta be my lady,
   and every night was mine!

Bridge
You used to be my buttercup,
I used to be your bee.
You act like I’m a flytrap now
that you just gotta flee!

Can’t say when the day will come –
but I swear it’s comin’ soon.
Dog and I can’t live on crumbs –
it’s time to play a different tune!

chorus
   Goodbye again sweet baby,
   go have a real good time!
   You usta be my lady,
   and every night was mine!

~

