I wrote this song for no better reason than the fact that I could.

13 Jul 2017 – Song: Liquid Plumber Blues

I’m drinking Liquid Plumber ‘cuz my life feels so damn stuck!
They say it unplugs everything – I thought I’d try my luck.
‘Bout half a lifetime – more or less – the whole thing went to hell.
But why or how or who or when? I sure as shit can’t tell.

How did I get so stuck?
How did it all lock up?
Why can’t I shake things free?
Why won’t life let me be?

My throne is made of porcelain, I wait for life to pass.
I listen for a rising wind – so far no hint of gas.
The ice in ‘ol Antarctica breaks off and floats away,
but true to form my world stands still and nothing moves today.

How did I get so stuck?
How did it all lock up?
Why can’t I shake things free?
Why won’t life let me be?

I polish off the bottle and I fling it to the floor.
Although this stall is occupied there’s someone at the door.
The sands of time won’t move for me, the stars can’t spare a glance,
I might as well arise and go – and buckle up my pants!

How did I get so stuck?
How did it all lock up?
Why can’t I shake things free?
Why won’t life let me be?

~

