28 Apr 2017 – Song: Now I Know

I remember seventeen –
my first night in the city.
Far too blind a fool to see
these pave stones held no pity.

   I remember neon lights
   flashing where the gutters flowed,
   thinking it was rain, not tears.
   Now I know – oh yes, I know.

I remember thirty-five,
thinking now I knew the game
One more kiss to bring me luck,
one more night would bring me Fame.

   I remember neon lights
   flashing where the gutters flowed,
   thinking it was rain, not tears.
   Now I know – oh yes, I know.

Here I sit at sixty-one,
just tonight I chance to meet
brand new flesh to feed the night –
laughing life poured past his feet.

   I remember neon lights
   flashing where the gutters flowed,
   thinking it was rain, not tears.
   Now I know – oh yes, I know.

~

