So… Mozart wrote the overture to Don Giovanni the morning of its first production? If I’d tried that I would’ve ended up with a 12-bar blues!

07 Dec 2016 – Blues: Don Giovanni

I wakes up in the moanin’,
me sheets all stink ‘o sin!
I staggers to da mirror
and I asks “boy, where you been?”

Been chasin’ other people’s daughters,
I just can’t get my fill!
Somebody’s blood is on my scabbard,
I wonders who I kilt?

The nights are made for prowlin’,
the daytime deals in shade,
and I’m just workin’ overtime
to hustle someone’s maid.

Been chasin’ other people’s daughters,
I just can’t get my fill!
Somebody’s blood is on my scabbard,
I wonders who I kilt?

I wonders what’s fo dinner?
Some statue says “O dude!
I brung me sous chef wif me –
as it turns out, pal, it’s you!”

Been chasin’ other people’s daughters,
I just can’t get my fill!
Somebody’s blood is on my scabbard,
I wonders who I kilt?

~

