12 Dec 2012 – Song: Who Owns My Congressman’s Soul?

Maybe it’s high time we all started asking
“Hey! Who owns my congressman’s soul?”
Spare me the crap about serving the People, tell me
“Who owns my congressman’s soul?”

We send ’em to DC with all good intentions,
We tell ’em it’s all gotta change,
but once they get there they just join in the PARTY –
everything’s exactly the same.

Maybe it’s high time we all started asking
“Hey! Who owns my congressman’s soul?”
Spare me the crap about serving the People, tell me
“Who owns my congressman’s soul?”

Now I’ve never played where the high-rollers play,
I’ve never been tempted with gold,
but you really gotta wonder what anything means
in a town where folks are all bought and sold.

Maybe it’s high time we all started asking
“Hey! Who owns my congressman’s soul?”
Spare me the crap about serving the People, tell me
“Who owns my congressman’s soul?”

You want my solution, I’ll tell you the truth,
I don’t think that it’s likely to end,
but if we quit the Parties and fire the lawyers
that might be the place to begin

Maybe it’s high time we all started asking
“Hey! Who owns my congressman’s soul?”
Spare me the crap about serving the People, tell me
“Who owns my congressman’s soul?”

~

