22 Nov 2016 – Song: Any Day

I bought this shack. They sold it cheap.
They laughed at me. “You want this heap?
You must be nuts! You stupid hick!
Why else buy such a rack of sticks?”

But I know something they don’t know!
Right here the railroad usta go.
It’s bound to come back any day,
who cares what all them scoffers say?

The mill shut down. Folks moved away
from farms, and kin, and father’s graves.
The mom and pop stores closed for good,
and kids won’t stay here – but they could.

But I know something they don’t know!
Right here the railroad usta go.
It’s bound to come back any day,
who cares what all them scoffers say?

I miss those day! Is that a sin?
Why can’t it all be great again?
But even Ma says “Wake up, Zack!”
They’s gone for good – ain’t comin’ back!”

But I know something they don’t know!
Right here the railroad usta go.
It’s bound to come back any day,
who cares what all them scoffers say?

~

