28 Oct 2016 – Song: Sweetheart

When I was just a little boy,
not more than eight or ten,
I loved the neighbor’s daughter
and called her my best friend.

I stood each day at sunrise
and swore to her my heart,
but now that we’re both grownup
she’s proved to be a tart!

   What happened, sweetheart?
   Was it all a lie?
   What happened, sweetheart?
   Did you even try?

I just don’t know what happened,
I thought I knew her well,
wrapped up in my love for her
there beat a heart from hell.

“Come here,” she says “I’ll take ya!”
“My arms are open wide!”
You won’t know the half of it
until you step inside.

   What happened, sweetheart?
   Was it all a lie?
   What happened, sweetheart?
   Did you even try?

It’s best if you’re not female.
God help you if you’re brown.
If you know the right from wrong
you best stay out of town.

Dressed in red and white and blue,
your jewelry’s solid gold,
purchased from the earnings off
the bodies you have sold.

   What happened, sweetheart?
   Was it all a lie?
   What happened, sweetheart?
   Did you even try?

~

