14 Jan 2016 – “Brutha” Blues

The whistle stopped its blowin’.
They paid my seven cents
and said “you best be goin,”
and they welded shut their fence.

C’mon and stand here – right beside me,
before you start to sing my blues.
You don’t know nuthin’ of it “brutha,”
until you’ve paid your own damn dues.

The man in his Marine suit
said “just a few good men,”
and told me “you’d look good in boots,
you got a breathin’ skin!”

C’mon and stand here – right beside me,
before you start to sing my blues.
You don’t know nuthin’ of it “brutha,”
until you’ve paid your own damn dues.

The cops say I’m an burgler.
The rich think I’m a bum,
The honkeys call me “brutha” –
but all the change I see is chump!

C’mon and stand here – right beside me,
before you start to sing my blues.
You don’t know nuthin’ of it “brutha,”
until you’ve paid your own damn dues.

~

